Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Astronomy Collections in Cambridge
There are many specialist print and online resources for Astronomy in Cambridge. These pages give you an overview of the resources and research support that libraries can offer.
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science (citation indexes), published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index
ejournals & eresources : news, advice and updates on new content from the ejournals@cambridge team for the University of Cambridge
LISA IX Conference
Proceedings of the most recent LISA conference. Information and library services in astronomy.
Using journal articles
If you're looking for a specific item, the easiest way to track it down is by using the library catalogue, iDiscover. Type a few words from the article's title into the search box. If the article is available online (and many of them are) then you should be able to get to it directly by clicking 'Full text available'. If it isn't online, then iDiscover will tell you where copies of the print journal can be found.
If you're looking for articles on a given topic, add a few keywords to the search box on iDiscover. Be careful with your search terms, and try synonyms if you're not getting the results you hoped for.
You can see the whole list of journals the university subscribes to on the ejournals website. Other useful ways to search for journal articles include Google Scholar, Project Muse and JStor.
Locating print collections