LibGuides: Anglo-Saxon, Norse and Celtic: Recommended resources for ASNC

Print ASNC collections in Cambridge

The ASNC department aims to provide the highest quality research resources for its students and research members. The ASNC library can be found on the first floor of the English Faculty Library. It consists of about 6,000 books and journals, covering all the subjects taught in the ASNC Tripos, and it's growing every year.

You can also find hundreds of ASNC books in the ASNC Common Room. These are mostly donations. You're very welcome to use these books, but they may not be removed.

The University Library has an excellent ASNC collection, as do several of the college libraries.

Collections Showcase

ASNC timeline

Online language resources

Old English Aerobics Interactive grammar exercises
Bosworth-Toller Anglo-Saxon dictionary Comprehensive Old English dictionary. OE to MnE and MnE to OE.

Viking Society Publications PDFs of all VSNR publications, including 'A New Introduction to Old Norse'.
Skaldic Project Searchable corpus of Skaldic poetry
Concise Dictionary of Old Icelandic
An English-Icelandic Dictionary (Cleasby/Vigfusson)

Welsh Prose, 1300-1425 Searchable corpus of Middle Welsh prose
Geiriadur Prifysgol Cymru Historical dictionary of the Welsh language
Old Irish Online Heavily glossed Medieval Irish texts
Electronic Dictionary of the Irish Language Historical dictionary of the Irish language.

Monumenta Germaniae Historica This link opens in a new window 1450 full searchable European medieval historical texts
Latin Cross Database searchtool This link opens in a new window Provides simultaneous searching of four databases: Library of Latin Texts (CLCLT); Monumenta Germaniae Historica (MGH); Aristoteles Latinus Database (ALD), and the Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature (ACLL).
Patrologia Latina Database This link opens in a new window Online version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologiae Cursus Completus, Series Latina. The PLD contains all 221 volumes of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Series Latina, which includes the original 217 volumes (1844-1855) plus the later four volumes of indexes (1862-1865). The Patrologia Latina Database covers the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Some major figures included are Hilary, Ambrose, Jerome, Boethius, Isidore, Bede, Peter Damian, Bernard, Augustine, Peter Lombard, Peter Chrysologus and many others. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are also included. Although the text is primarily in Latin, the database has an English language search engine and help. A cross-search option allows users to find search terms in both the Patrologia Latina Database and the Acta Sanctorum Database. Also, Brill's edition of Jan Frederik Niermeyer's Mediae Latinitatis Lexicon Minus is available from the search page. Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers are also included.

Unbound Bible Parallel translations of the Bible in several different languages, including the Vulgate.
Perseus Word Study Tool Translates and parses individual words

Electronic resources

You can find detailed listings of electronic resources and databases at the eresources@cambridge page. There's also an extensive A-Z of our ejournal collection available on ejournals@cambridge or via iDiscover.

Resources for My Subject

Anglo-Saxon, Norse and Celtic: Recommended resources for ASNC

Print ASNC collections in Cambridge

Collections Showcase

ASNC timeline

Online language resources

Electronic resources