Skip to main content

Resources for My Subject

Theology and Religious Studies: Cambridge Centre for Christianity Worldwide

Theology and Religious Studies: Cambridge Centre for Christianity Worldwide

Description of collection:

The Cambridge Centre for Christianity Worldwide is a rich collection of books, journals, pamphlets, theses and archive collections in the scholarly fields of World Christianity - particularly in the non-western world - and mission studies. The library serves a range of disciplines including history, theology, anthropology and social sciences. Its holdings and special collections include: Non-western world mission, Church histories, contextual theologies, Church leader biographies, & Church engagement with local culture, socio-economic problems, faiths & politics. The evangelical mission movement & missionary biographies, the ecumenical movement, denominational mission involvement, theologies of mission, ecotheology, dialogue & pluralism. The St Augustine Library Mission Studies collection, mostly published pre-1900. Corresponding archive collections of missionary personal papers (see website for catalogues). These are particularly strong for East Africa, including those of Joe Church (1899-1985). Includes substantial copied material of archives elsewhere and grey literature (minor publications), sound recordings for oral history and photographs.

What material is being bought?

Library book purchases are primarily recently published, scholarly material on world Christianity, particularly in the non-western world, and mission studies. Book recommendations are welcome and reviewed by the Librarian, Ruth Maclean

Access:

Current members of the University of Cambridge and Cambridge Theological Federation may use the library during regular opening hours. There are study carrels for readers who wish to work in the library. Please register the first time you visit. Borrowing allowance is ten books for two weeks or ten books for four weeks, depending on your status. Staff, postgraduates and ordinands have the longer borrowing period. External researchers and the general public may use the library for reference only, any time of year. If you wish to borrow books, you may purchase a CCCW library card for £12/term or £36/year. ID is required at registration for non-University members. For a further fee, the CCCW provides a research base in Cambridge, out-of-hours access to the library, and a connection to the Cambridge Theological Federation for external researchers from other institutions. Those intending to consult the archive collections should contact the Archivist, Phillip Saunders, well in advance of arrival.