Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for My Subject

Zoology: Special Collections

Overview of Special Collections at the Zoology Library

The Zoology Library's Special Collections comprise approximately 8,750 volumes which date from the fifteenth to the mid-twentieth century, as well as over 60,000 offprints, over 100 photographs and several paintings.

Short catalogue records for the books in these collections can be retrieved via iDiscover, the online catalogue for the libraries in the University of Cambridge.

In short, the collections are primarily made of gifts with some more recent purchases added as appropriate. These include the bequests from the two main library founders, Francis Maitland Balfour and Alfred Newton and the following collections:

  • The MacAndrew Collection (1873). Conchology. 300 volumes.
  • The Strickland Collection (1875 & 1881). Ornithology. 422 volumes.
  • The Norman Collection (1912). Natural history. Over 1200 volumes.
  • The Hogg Collection (1924). Spiders etc.
  • The Watson Collection (1960). Malacology. Over 1000 offprints and 50 books.
  • The Roger Lubbock Collection  (1980's?). Fish. 30 volumes, mainly on open access.
  • Eltringham African Collection (2006). African ecology, wildlife conservation and management. Over 135 books and other items, around 50 theses.

Special Collection Highlights

Large ground finch from 'The zoology of the voyage of H.M.S. Beagle', edited by Charles Darwin.

Two species of iguana and three species of gecko from 'The Animal Kingdom', by Baron Cuvier.

© Cambridge University Libraries | Accessibility | Privacy Policy