Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for My Subject

Pathology: Online Resources

Databases

 

 

 

PubMed contains 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles. Includes links to full text articles and related resources.


Scopus logo

Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive.


Embase

This biomedical and pharmacological resource gives you access to the most up-to-date medical and drug-related subjects. This database complements PubMed/ Medline, with strengths in pharmacology, drug research and toxicology. 


bioRxiv is an online archive of unpublished preprints for the life sciences. By publishing here, authors can make their findings immediately available to the scientific community.


The Springer Biomedical and Life Sciences Ebook Collection 

Springer Nature promotional image

The Biomedical and Life Sciences eBook Collection brings together up-to-date resources from trusted authors working around the world in all aspects of life: from patterns of infectious transmission to processes responsible for the loss of biodiversity. The books in this collection cover a wide range of topics, including applied microbiology & biotechnology, infectious diseases, veterinary science, immunology, pharmacology, toxicology, physiology, virology and more.


Access to the set of Annual Reviews, including the Annual Review of Pathology: Mechanisms of Disease. These contain time-saving review articles summarising key research and emerging issues. Extensive bibliographies provide authoritative paths to relevant primary literature. The Annual Review of Pathology covers topics including receptors, transporters, enzymes, and chemical agents; drug development science; systems such as the immune system, central and autonomic nervous systems, gastrointestinal system, cardiovascular system, endocrine system, and pulmonary system; and special topics.

Supporting Lab Work

We know it can be hard to gain access to the laboratories at the moment, and so we thought we'd highlight a few of our online resources that focus on protocols and experimental work. These resources cover a broad range of topics, so have a good browse through and be inspired!

 

 

 

 

JoVE Unlimited: Journal of Visual Experiments has educational videos demonstrating science concepts and laboratory methods suitable for undergraduate and graduate courses. JoVE videos also bring to life the intricate details of cutting-edge experiments enabling efficient learning and replication of new research methods and technologies.


Wiley Current Protocols includes over 24,000 step-by-step techniques, procedures, and practical overviews that provide researchers with reliable, efficient methods to ensure reproducible results and pave the way for critical scientific discovery. There is a broad subject coverage for researchers, and a section on Essential Laboratory Techniques will be of particular use to undergraduate students.


Springer Nature Experiments is a research solution allowing researchers to quickly find and evaluate protocols and methods in the life sciences.


Cold Spring Harbour Protocols is an interactive source of new and classic research techniques. Fully searchable by keyword and subject. Coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. Regularly updated.

Database and ebook guides

The University of Cambridge subscribes to a wide range of online resources that can be accessed from wherever you are through using your Raven credentials.

Search databases, digital archive collections, and primary sources on Cambridge Databases A-Z.

Use iDiscover to search for ebooks, or check out ebooks@cambridge for more information. 

Open Access resources

Although many journals are only available to those with a subscription, an increasing number are now making some or all of their content freely accessible, or 'Open Access'. This means that our subscription database are not the only place you need to look when searching for resources. Find out more about how to search for open access content using this handy guide.

If you're interested in finding out more about the principles of Open Access, or want to publish your own content in Open Access sources, then check out this guide from the Office of Scholarly Communication.

Lean Library logoThe Lean Library Button

Compatible with most browsers, Lean Library is a browser extension that will automatically detect when you have access to something. This access might be provided through the University of Cambridge's subscriptions, or it might be an Open Access version. Either way, this will reduce the need for hours spent trying to log in to different websites or hitting paywalls and will give you quick access to what you need.

 

©2021 Cambridge University Libraries | Accessibility | Privacy policy | Login to LibApps | Report a problem