Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for My Subject

Engineering Library: Print collections

Information about the Department of Engineering Library, including information for researchers

iDiscover

The easiest way to track down a specific item is by searching iDiscover.

For guidance on how to use iDiscover most effectively, see the iDiscover LibGuide.

Recommend a book

If there is a book you think we should own, let us know!

Access to resources during lockdown

We want to maximise the access you have to the collections and to the specialist support available from our libraries staff, wherever you are working or studying this term. We also want to keep you and our staff safe, and to ensure that we can keep services running effectively - we are keeping the services and the we offer under constant review.

We continue to provide outstanding remote access to millions of the resources in our collections, and we are working hard to maintain and expand this.

Our electronic collections are the first place to look for your information needs.

If the material you need isn’t available electronically, you can use our Zero-contact services

Our zero-contact services enable you to access our collection that is not available electronically.

Scan and Deliver (which also provides print-outs of electronic legal deposit material) to obtain the material you need from the University Library, Moore Library and Engineering.

Additionally, you can place an order to Click & Collect from the University Library or the Moore Library

Alternatively, use our Request a book qualtrics form so we can purchase ebooks for you.

 

Locating print collections

Image: bookshelves in the library silent space

Print resources available from the Engineering Library include:

  • 25,000 books, including Tripos reading list material
  • 200 printed journals
  • 30,000 reports including Department Technical Reports
  • Past exam papers and Tripos materials
  • Engineering PhD theses
  • Beyond Engineering, including study skills, wellbeing, science fiction, DVD and hardware collections

All our print collections are held in the library, and you can find them by classmark (a unique combination of letters and numbers, e.g. EP 35).

You can find the classmark when searching for the item on iDiscover, and then match it with the one on the printed label on the item. Our collection is shelved alphabetically by classmark, beginning with A in the Silent Space, and ending with Z near the library entrance in the Collaborative Space.

To maintain social distancing the number of people in the Engineering library has had to be reduced. Please follow all guidelines advertised in the library space to help protect yourself and all other users.

To enter the library, you will need to book in advance. 

You can book a study space using our Book a Seat service, or come in to borrow books using our Browse and Borrow service. For more details, please see our Services page. 

You will not be able to enter the library without booking a slot. 

Please note that Government guidelines state that face coverings should be worn in libraries and public reading rooms. We therefore ask readers visiting the Engineering Library and other Cambridge University Libraries to wear a face covering in all areas of the library to keep everyone safe. We are sensitive and supportive of those who are exempt from this expectation. Please visit the University's Stay Safe Cambridge Uni  pages for a list of medical exemptions.

Recommend an item

If there is a book you think we should own, let us know by filling in our Recommendation Form.

© Cambridge University Libraries | Accessibility | Privacy Policy