Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for My Subject

Engineering Library: News

Information about the Department of Engineering Library, including information for researchers

 

News Banner

This page will be regularly updated with news and updates from the Engineering Library and other Cambridge University Libraries.

CUED Baker North Wing - Power Shutdown: Saturday, 11 December

As part of the works to upgrade the ventilation in LT0, the Engineering Department's Baker North Wing will not be able to be accessed for the whole of Saturday 11th December 2021. Security and other facilities personnel will be on site to ensure the building remains secure. Access to the rest of Baker Building will be via the James Dyson Building or the entrances off the centre roadway. The James Dyson and Inglis buildings are not affected.

The areas in Baker Building that are affected are shown on the plan below:

 

Instructions regarding IT Equipment

ICS have recommended that all PCs and other IT or experimental equipment in the areas affected should be safely shut down on or before Friday 10th December. Networking and communications in the areas affected are expected to be operating as normal on Sunday 12th December, and the site will be accessible 08:00-23:00 for anyone wanting to come in and restart their IT equipment then. ICS support will be available on Monday 13th December to assist with restarting equipment where people are unable to ask someone in their own team to switch equipment back on for them.

Further Information

Should you have any questions or require further information, there is information on the departmental intranet pages, including a list of contact points.

AIAA Video Library: University of Cambridge access

Person standing in front of bank of screens with laptopThe University of Cambridge now has institutional access to the 2021 archive of the AIAA (American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics) video library.

The AIAA video library is a digital archive of video presentations presented by technical paper authors at AIAA events. These videos are an additional benefit to the event’s conference proceedings. In the future, the AIAA video library will also be the place to see archive videos from plenary and panel sessions held at AIAA events.

Explore videos from AIAA events and begin your research on the latest innovations and developments in aerospace. Log in with “University of Cambridge” institutional access on the AIAA Video Library website. Videos with “AIAA-2021” in their numbering will be accessible via this login.

To see information on all our electronic resources for Engineers, see our Electronic Resources page.

Open Research at Cambridge Conference

Open building windows overlaid by Open Research at Cambridge textWe have moved beyond the myth of the lone genius: research is a collaborative endeavour. We need to approach all stages of research more openly, to facilitate collaboration and the incremental growth of ideas. Breaking down the walls around information will enable more stakeholders, both lay and professional, to become involved and deepen their trust in research.

The Open Research at Cambridge conference runs between 22-26 November 2021, with eleven online sessions about different aspects of Open Research. It is an opportunity to focus conversations within the University of Cambridge to map out where our institution wants to go and how we will get there.

Visit the conference webpage to explore the programme and book your place for sessions, or for more information contact the Office of Scholarly Communications at info@osc.cam.ac.uk.

Reading Lists Online Usability Testing

Students working at laptopsReading Lists Online are your online reading lists. They are just one of the tools to support your studies, and we'd like to work with students to see how they interact with the online reading list system through some usability testing.

What do I need to participate?

  • Access to a PC or laptop where you can share your screen over an online meeting (either in Microsoft Teams or Zoom). 
  • One hour of free time to run through some exercises with a member of our user experience team.

We will check that you are happy for us to record the session for data collection purposes only, and we will delete the recording before the end of Michaelmas Term at the very latest. You will remain anonymous through the process of collecting and reporting the data.

If you haven't seen or used these online lists before, but would be interested in the study, you are very welcome to participate. No previous experience is required!

By seeing how you use Reading Lists Online, and for you to talk through the processes and observations you make when using the system with us, we can continue to make improvements to benefit you and many more students who are using online reading lists now and in the future.

If you would like to participate in the usability testing, at a time and date that is convenient for you, please send an email to futurelib@lib.cam.ac.uk and we'll be in touch!

Cambridge Libraries User Experience Team

Optical Society of America Conference Proceedings Online

The Department of Engineering has now made the conference proceedings of the Optical Society of America (OSA) available online.

You can access the conferences online directly, or go to the Cambridge University Libraries A-Z. You can also find each of the conference proceedings titles via the iDiscover catalogue.

The conference proceedings number over 800 meetings and comprise over 5,000 conference videos.

Of particular interest to Engineers will be the availability of the conferences on Optical Fibre Communication, Frontiers in Optics, and Digital Holography and Three-Dimensional Imaging.

Read more about the OSA conference proceedings at the EJournals@Cambridge blog.

Elsevier Negotiations: Update and Consultation

The University of Cambridge is in negotiations with the publisher Elsevier and has opened a consultation with academics and staff to hear your views. In a blog post for the Unlocking Research blog, the University Librarian, Dr Jessica Gardner, introduces the context behind the negotiations and outlines how you can share your thoughts and respond to the consultation. Dr Gardner writes:

"As Cambridge University’s Librarian, I am mindful of the need for our academics to be able to access the journals they require and publish in the journals they feel most befit their research. The library is here to support Cambridge’s academic mission to develop and share new knowledge, which requires comprehensive access to the scientific record. Through the coming months, as we continue our negotiations with Elsevier, we want to listen to the academic community to better understand how these negotiations may impact their work". 

Read more on the Unlocking Research blog, and add your response to the University's Consultation

British Standards Online (BSOL) plug in update

British Standards Online (BSOL), the teaching, research, and study tool for a broad range of courses and disciplines, provides full text access to thousands of BS, BS EN, BS ISO, PAS standards.

At the start of 2021, BSI began working with BSOL clients to activate a new security feature that supports access to documents within the platform.

From 1 September 2021, all users at academic institutions will need to have the FileOpen plug-in installed on your device in order to access BSI documents within BSOL. 

The digital security of intellectual property is important for BSI, who also wish to protect users from potential and unintentional fraudulent activity and  from copyright and intellectual property breaches. This extra layer of security to BSI documents helps to achieve this. The licence for BSI documents states that it is for a single user on a single device but in practice BSI have allowed the document to be used on up to three devices, to support those of you moving across devices. Please ensure that you’re connected to the internet when you open the documents for the first time to authenticate them and use Adobe or an equivalent PDF viewer.

Find out more on what’s changing via the BSI website, and access the guidance document which allows you to test the plug-in feature. 

Please contact ejournals@lib.cam.ac.uk if you have any concerns.

The University of Cambridge and Elsevier

The contract between the publisher Elsevier and UK Universities is due for renewal in December 2021. The sector is entering negotiations with the aim of securing a read and publish agreement that converts subscription expenditure to support immediate open access publishing and maintains access to paywalled content for a reduced fee. So-called ‘transitional’ or ‘transformative’ agreements (TAs) are supported by Plan S funders with the goal of achieving full and immediate open access.

You can read more about the negotiations via the News Story on the Cambridge University Libraries website, and further information is available on the University of Cambridge and Elsevier website

O'Reilly for Higher Education subscription

O'Reilly for Higher Education subscriptionNew subscription to O'Reilly for Higher Education

The Cambridge University Library ebooks team are delighted to announce that a year-long subscription has been taken out to O’Reilly for Higher Education (OHE).

University staff and students previously had access to OHE through a two-month trial in the spring, and the new paid-for access has followed on seamlessly from the trial thanks to flexibility from O’Reilly. OHE holds titles of interest across STEMM with a particular strength in technology.

iDiscover holds records for individual titles from O’Reilly, and you can explore the O'Reilly platform via this direct link (Raven login required).

Publish Open Access Free of Charge

Cambridge researchers can now publish open access with no charge in journals that are part of "Read And Publish" or "Transformative" Agreements. Here’s what you need to know.  

The University of Cambridge is signing agreements with a growing number of publishers to enable researchers at the University to publish primary research and review articles Open Access.  

These agreements are on a read and publish model: the publisher receives payment for providing access to their journal portfolio and payment for publishing, bundled into a single contract.   

What does this mean for you?   

If a journal is covered by one the deals, you will not be charged open access fees provided your paper is a research or review article, and has a University of Cambridge affiliated corresponding author.  Costs for Open Access publishing have been met centrally, arranged by Cambridge University Libraries directly with the publisher.   

Which journals are covered by a Transformative Agreement?  

Currently the University has signed transformative read & publish agreements with 12 publishers, covering over 5000 journals.    

Information about these publishers is provided on the University Open Access website, where you will also find a list of the journals where you can publish with no Open Access fee. This list is updated regularly.

For further information please visit the webpage on Open Access Agreements or contact the Open Access Team by email at info@openaccess.cam.ac.uk.  

New Ebooks Collections Available

New Ebooks collections are available for University of Cambridge students, staff and researchers. 

Of particular relevance to Engineering are:

Science Direct Mathematics Focus Collection, with nearly 6,000 maths and physics titles available until the end of 2021

O'Reilly for Higher Education Collection, featuring technology and business content from over 250 publishers, available until 20 April 2022

Morgan and Claypool Ebooks, including over 350 titles in Engineering and Computer Science

Find out more on the ebooks@cambridge blog.

©2021 Cambridge University Libraries | Accessibility | Privacy policy | Login to LibApps | Report a problem