This page provides information on how to access items relocated to temporary locations.

• Israel Abraham Collection – the collection is available in the Munby Rare Books Reading Room in the University Library. Please send fetching requests by emailing rarebooks@lib.cam.ac.uk including your 5-character reader’s card number (where applicable, e.g. VA123) and the classmarks for the books required. If you are not a current member of the University, please read 'If you are not a current member of the University of Cambridge' section below, and register with the University Library before your visit.

• Owen Lattimore Collection – the items within the collection catalogued in the iDiscover catalogue are available in the Faculty of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies Library as before. Uncatalogued items, including his personal papers are not available until further notice.

• Journal issues and books marked as ‘Basement Store’ in the iDiscover catalogue – these items need to be fetched from the temporary location for you, and will be available at the Faculty of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies Library.  Please submit a fetching request by emailing us at library@ames.cam.ac.uk.  We will let you know when it is available (current turnaround time is 3 days).

• Archive collections – items from these collections are available by prior appointment only, and will be available in the Manuscript Room in the University Library.  Please send a request by emailing librarian@ames.cam.ac.uk at least four working days in advance. We will notify you by email when the items you requested are ready.  If you are not a current member of the University Library, please read the instructions below and register with them before your visit. 

If you are not a current member of the University of Cambridge (i.e. members of the public, students and staff members from other universities and academic institutions)

If you are not a current member of the University and would like to have access to the Israel Abraham Collection and/or the archive collections, you have to register with the University Library prior to your visit.  You can find the registration details by visiting the ‘Who can use the Library?’ page on the University Library website (https://www.lib.cam.ac.uk/register/who-can-use-library).  Please note that the registration process may take up to 3 days, and fees may be applied. If you have any questions or need assistance, please email libraian@ames.cam.ac.uk.