Find the best library databases for your research.
Chat with us
Have a question about ejournals and eresources? Chat with us using our new LibChat service!
Currently, the chat is live Monday to Friday 1000-1200 and 1400-1600.
If you want to get in touch with us outside these hours, please email firstname.lastname@example.org
The most frequently-used databases
British Humanities IndexThis link opens in a new window"An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, BHI indexes over 320 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK."--Proquest website
ClinicalKey StudentThis link opens in a new window250+ medical textbook titles published by Elsevier.
Users are required to create a personal profile to access content on the site. A personal profile also enables users to use Bookshelf (with highlighting, note-making, and bookmarking functionality), share notes/highlighting, and export notes to OneNote.
ClinicalKey Student Foundations is an innovative portfolio of eBooks, images and videos combined with interactive tools and analytics to support teaching and learning in UK medical programmes. In particular, the ability to create and share links to selected readings, videos and copyright cleared images allows academics to guide students through their required learning.
ScopusThis link opens in a new windowScopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science (citation indexes), published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Mass Observation Project 1981-2009This link opens in a new windowAn essential resource for late-twentieth and early twenty-first-century British social history, consists of all the directives (questionnaires) sent out by Mass Observation and the responses to them from the hundreds of Mass Observers
Company database comprising information about more than 100 million companies worldwide. Also covers the banking and insurance sectors.
Other side of hope : refugee & immigrant literary magazineThis link opens in a new windowWe are a group of immigrants and refugees who produce and publish the other side of hope: journeys in refugee and immigrant literature, the UK's only literary journal that is edited entirely by migrants. Established in 2021, we exist to celebrate the refugee and immigrant writing communities worldwide.