Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for My Subject

Physiology, Development and Neuroscience Guide: Collections/ Physical Resources

Please be aware that due to on-going restrictions around the current COVID-19 pandemic, access to physical spaces such as libraries is currently limited. For an overview of what services are currently available to members of the University, please visit the Library Services during COVID-19 tab within this guide. 

If you wish to discuss your needs with a member of the Biological Sciences Libraries Team, please email our shared address for help. For any enquiries related to the PDN Department itself, please contact the Covering Librarian, Roberto Inchingolo.

Biology print resources and library help is available at the following libraries.

A full list of all the libraries in Cambridge can be found on the Libraries Directory

Undergraduate reading lists for subjects taught by PDN can be found in the course pages for each topic on Moodle, or on the PDN LIbrary website.  

Document Delivery Services

Where an article is not available from within Cambridge, researchers can apply for an Inter-Library Loan from another participating institution.

Both the University Library and the Betty & Gordon Moore Library operate an online service that is open to all registered users:

For Inter-library loans from PDN, please ask the Covering Librarian

The Betty & Gordon Moore Library runs a free Scan & Deliver service to allow current University staff and students to get remote access to their collections that are not currently available electronically.

Holdings coverage

Users should be aware that the service only covers the holdings of the Betty & Gordon Moore Library, and the Engineering Library. To make an order, please use the relevant online form.

Electronic Legal Deposit

Found an item on iDiscover that looks really good but you get a message telling you that "online access is restricted" and you have to use a "designated PC"? Not to worry. There's a Guide to help you with that!

The PDN Library holds the following special collections:

Boyd Histological Collection (slides)
Dept. Officer Responsible: Prof. Graham Burton.
The collection is also available at the Anatomical Society web site via the Human Embryo Database.

The Lovaton Veterinary Anatomy Library (reference only)
Situated in the Anatomy Building.
Dept. Officer Responsible: Dr David Bainbridge.

The PDN Library also has an historical book collection. For information on the titles and how to consult them, please contact the Covering Librarian.

Close up of a person's hands scrolling on an iPhone with the SpaceFinder service displayed on the screenIs your usual study space no longer working for you? Need to get away from distractions and find a quiet spot to focus? Need to finish a group project and can't find a room for you all? Spacefinder could be the answer to all your problems!

By using your browser's inbuilt location service, Spacefinder will show you what places are available for you to work in and that are near to you. You can even filter results by what you want to do, what sort of atmosphere you want, or if you want to be able to buy a cup of coffee to fuel your study session! Handy!