Skip to main content

Cambridge LibGuides

English Faculty Library Subject Guides: American

A site dedicated to resources for English Faculty students

Newspapers and Magazines

The New Yorker - Electronic archive. Borrowable from the EFL issue desk.

Playboy Archive - Electronic searchable copy of every issue from 1953 to 2010. Borrowable from the EFL issue desk.

American Periodicals - Database of periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

The Modernist Journals Project -  Digital editions of culturally significant magazines from the early 20th century.

New York Times

The New Yorker Page Turner and Podcast

The Paris Review - Includes interviews with American writers.

Washington Post

Symbiosis - A Journal of Transatlantic Literary and Cultural Relations.

 

Bibliographies

Bibliography of American Literature (BAL) - Provides nearly 40,000 records of the literary works of approximately 300 American writers.

Oxford Bibliographies for American Literature

Wright American Fiction database 1851–1875 - An online compilation of American Fiction 1851–1875 - a comprehensive bibliography of American fiction from 1774 through 1900.


Web Resources

American Drama - Provides access to over 1500 plays from over 500 playwrights.

African American Poetry - The early history of African American poetry to the major poets of the nineteenth century.

Twentieth-Century American Poetry - The collection includes 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets.

American Poetry - Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century.

Early American Fiction 1789 - 1875 - Holds the full text of 875 first editions of American novels and short stories by such authors as Louisa May Alcott, Herman Melville, Harriet Beecher Stowe and Mark Twain.

Twentieth-Century African-American Poetry - A database of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century.

American Studies at the University of Virginia - A selective, annotated directory of resources for American Studies. Includes Hypertexts and Cultural Maps.

Early Americas Digital Archive (EADA) - A collection of electronic texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820.

Making of America - A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

Our Americas Archive Partnership - A digital archive supported by search tools and teaching materials that provides open access to historical documents on the Americas.

The Eccles Centre - British Library - Houses the foremost collection of American books, manuscripts, journals, newspapers and sound recordings outside of the United States.

Voice of the Shuttle: American Literature - The American branch of an extensive links directory created by Alan Liu of the University of California.


Resources for specific writers & themes

Open-access Online Archives:

Emily Dickinson Archive

The Walt Whitman Archive

Mark Twain Project Online

Charles Chestnutt Digital Archive

Willa Cather archive

      Hart Crane - Modern American Poetry

Southern Charities Project - A project by the University of Warwick detailing charitable provision for the poor in the antebellum southern United States. Includes database and bibliography.

Uncle Tom's Cabin and American Culture - A multi-media archive created by the University of Virginia.

Documenting the American South - A collection of digital texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture.

The Yale Modernism Lab - A virtual space dedicated to collaborative research into the roots of literary modernism. Includes wiki and digital archive.

Post World War II American Literature and Culture Database - Database of links, bibliographies and online resources from the University of California, Berkeley.

Digital Schomburg - Provides online access to exhibitions, books, articles, photographs, prints, audio and video streams, and selected external links for research in the history and cultures of the peoples of Africa and the African Diaspora via the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, New York Public Library.

The Transcendentalists - Resources for the study of the Transcendentalists: Ralph Waldo Emerson, Henry David Thoreau, Margaret Fuller and others. 


Library Collections

The Library of Congress - The American nation’s first established cultural institution and the largest library in the world.

American Memory - Books and periodicals published in the US during the nineteenth century, primarily during the second half of the century.

Schlesinger Library - The Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America documents the lives of women of the past and present for the future and furthers the Radcliffe Institute's commitment to women, gender, and society.

The Maine Women Writers Collection (MWWC) - A special collection of published and unpublished literary, cultural, and social history sources by and about Maine women.

American Antiquarian Society

Harvard Theatre Collection

Library Company of Philadelphia

Massachusetts Historical Society

Newberry Library, Chicago

New York Historical Society

New York Public Library

Smithsonian Institute

A timeline charting the history of American literature.  View full screen.