Resources for specific writers
Odour of Chrysanthemums: A text in progress - Project that traces the development of D H Lawrence's Odour of Chrysanthemums through digitized texts.
Ashmolean − The Elements of Drawing - Online database of John Ruskin’s Teaching Collection at Oxford.
Ruskin at Walkley - A reconstruction of the original setting of the Ruskin Collection in the St George's Museum, Walkley.
The Algernon Charles Swinburne Project - A digital collection and scholarly project devoted to the life and work of Victorian poet Algernon Charles Swinburne.
Rossetti Archive - Searchable collection of Dante Gabriel Rossetti's pictorial and textual works.
The Carlyle Letters Online - Over 10,000 of the collected letters of Thomas and Jane Welsh Carlyle.
The Dickens Project - Consortium of American universities, includes links, bibliographies and scholarship.
William Morris Gallery - A public gallery devoted to the life and legacy of William Morris.
Leigh Hunt Online: The Letters - Digital collection of surviving correspondence of Romantic poet, writer, and editor Leigh Hunt (1784-1859).
John Clare Page – Poems, articles and essays relating to John Clare.
Nineteenth Century Fiction - 250 complete works of prose fiction by 102 authors from the period 1782-1903.
Nineteenth century serials edition (NCSE) - Online edition of six nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers. Includes the English Woman's Journal (1858-1864) and the Publisher's Circular (1880-1890).
Past Masters - Digitizations of the works and correspondence of Austen, Coleridge, Hume, Pope, Swift, Tennyson, and the Wordsworths.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003) - Full facsimile run of the Illustrated London News.
Literary Resources: Victorian British - Part of the 'Literary Resources on the Net' website from Jack Lynch of Rutgers University.
Nineteenth-Century Disability: Cultures and Contexts - An interdisciplinary collection of primary texts and images on physical and cognitive disability in the long nineteenth century (c. 1780 to 1914).
N I N E S (Network Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Scholarship) - A scholarly organization devoted to forging links between the material archive of the nineteenth century and the digital research environment of the twenty-first.
The Victorian Web - Huge collection of links to primary and secondary texts (including scholarly book reviews) covering British Victorian literature, philosophy, political and social history, and visual arts.
Monuments and Dust: Victorian London - A visual, textual, and statistical representation of Victorian London.
Victorian Women Writers Project - Project by Indiana University primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century.
The Victorian Plays Project - A digital archive of over 350 selected plays from T.H. Lacy's Acting Edition of Victorian Plays (1848-1873).
The Yellow Nineties Online - An open-access, peer-reviewed electronic resource focused on The Yellow Book and other avant-garde aesthetic periodicals that flourished in Great Britain at the fin-de-siècle.
Victorian Poets – Online Concordances - Web concordances (lists of instances of specific words used in a body of work) for P.B. Shelley, S.T. Coleridge, John Keats, William Blake, Wordsworth & Coleridge's Lyrical Ballads, and Gerard Manley Hopkins.
Romantic Circles: praxis series - Extensive scholarly website for the study of the Romantic period c.1780-1830.
British Women Romantic Poets, 1789-1832 - An electronic collection of texts from the University of California, Davis.
Lyrical Ballads – An electronic scholarly edition of William Wordsworth and Samuel Taylor Coleridge's Lyrical Ballads.
Streetprint: Revolution & Romanticism - A collection of street literature from street ballads through chapbooks and tracts to valentines, from Britain and mostly from the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries.
Romantic Natural History – A site exploring links between literature and science in the century preceding Darwin’s ‘On the Origin of Species (1859)’
British Association for Romantic Studies (BARS) –The UK's leading national organization for promoting the study of Romanticism.
Nineteenth-Century English Novel: Bibliographic Resources - Links to online resources and a bibliography of works related to the 19th Century English Novel.
Utilitarian Philosophers: – Works by David Hume, Jeremy Bentham, Henry Sidgwick & J.S. Mill.
The Modernist Journals Project - Digital editions of culturally significant magazines from the early 20th century.
First World War Poetry Digital Archive – Collection of over 7,000 items of text, images, audio & video. Including Wilfred Owen, Isaac Rosenberg, Robert Graves, Vera Brittain, and Edward Thomas.
Tate Britain – Holds works by Constable and Pre-Raphaelites e.g. Rossetti, Millais, Burne-Jones etc.
Cambridge Authors - Project focusing on authors who studied at Cambridge - includes AS Byatt, EM Forster, Ted Hughes, Sylvia Plath & Zadie Smith.
The Samuel Butler Project - Collection of material produced by and relating to the Victorian polymath Samuel Butler (1835-1902) held by St John’s College Library.
Faculty Research Groups
Nineteenth-Century Studies Hub - English Faculty’s research community in Nineteenth-Century Studies.