The Engineering Library team have curated this list of useful e-resources for students reading for the Engineering Tripos. Email us if you have any specific questions about these resources or general research skills.
For a complete list of e-resources and e-journals provided by the University of Cambridge, please visit the index compiled by the University's e-resources team, or keep up with the latest trials and new resources through the ejournals@cambridge blog.
If you need journal articles, conference papers, books, reports or other items that cannot be found in any of the University libraries, we can attempt to obtain a photocopy or a loan from the British Library, or other UK institutions.
These cost between £10 and £15 per Inter Library Loan, but members of the department can make 10 requests per academic year, free of charge.
Databases search multiple sources to bring back references and abstracts of articles, books, chapters and so on. You can search the literature using keywords and filters, or look for specific resources using known information such as title and author.
Hint: You can see if we have online access to articles by clicking "find full text" on a record. If we don't have access online, check iDiscover for a physical copy in the Cambridge Library system. If you still come up blank you might recommend the item for purchase or request it via Inter Library Loan.
Scopus searches a large body of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature to provide references, abstracts and citations. Links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive.
Web of Science, published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering some of the journals within the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. You can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as journal articles, research reports, dissertations and theses, preprints, technical reports, patents, manuscripts in preparation, working papers and many other document types. It is unclear what is indexed and how, however, so Google Scholar should be used in conjunction with other academic databases for more reliable results.
Hint: Google Scholar is useful as a first port of call to identify keywords and authors in a subject area, for finding "gray literature" and locating more information on partial citations. It is not useful for searching the deep web, filtering by subject or refining your search.
Search iDiscover for the titles of journals, articles or conference proceedings to see whether they are available. Sometimes conferences only publish abstracts from papers rather than the full text, so it can be a little difficult to find the information you're looking for. If you would like help tracking down a paper, let us know!
In addition to its substantial physical collections, the University subscribes to a large quantity of electronic books. These will come up in a normal catalogue search on iDiscover. If you would like to request an e-book, please fill in the recommendation form.