Skip to main content

Subject Guides

Engineering: Electronic resources

Information about the Department of Engineering Library, including information for researchers

The Library team have curated a list of useful e-resources for students and researchers in Engineering. Email us if you have any specific questions about these resources or general study and research skills.

For a complete list of e-resources, please visit the index compiled by the University's e-resources team, or keep up with the latest trials and new resources through the ejournals@cambridge blog.

The index of resources provided by the Judge Business School Library and Information Service is very useful for subjects relating to industry, manufacturing and business.

The A-Z guide to databases lists over 800 databases you will have access to as a member of the University. To just see databases for Engineering, you can filter by subject. 

If you need journal articles, conference papers, books, reports or other items that cannot be found in any of the University libraries, we can attempt to obtain a photocopy or a loan from the British Library, or other UK institutions.

These cost between £10 and £15 per Inter Library Loan, but members of the department can make 10 requests per academic year, free of charge. 

If you want to request an item as an Inter Library Loan, please email us at cued-library@eng.cam.ac.uk for a request form.

Databases search multiple sources to bring back references and abstracts of articles, books, chapters and so on. You can search the literature using keywords and filters, or look for specific resources using known information such as title and author.
You can see if we have online access to articles by clicking "find full text" on a record. If we don't have it, check the online catalogue for a physical copy in the Cambridge Library system. If you still come up blank you might recommend the item for purchase or request it via Inter Library Loan.

Subject Specialist Databases

You can search iDiscover for the titles of journals, articles or conference proceedings to see whether they are available. Sometimes conferences only publish abstracts from papers rather than the full text, so it can be a little difficult to find the information you're looking for. If you would like help tracking down a paper, let us know!
A Standard is a “document that provides requirements, specifications, guidelines or characteristics that can be used consistently to ensure that materials, products, processes and services are fit for their purpose” (ISO, 2016).
They are created and revised by various national and international organisations with the input of many relevant organisations and individuals. There are several Standards collections available within the University:

If you can't access the Standard you need from any of these sources, please get in touch with the library and we will let you know of any other options available. If you would like to purchase any individual British Standards for your work, we may be able to acquire it at a reduced rate.

Use these resources to help you find and work with patents worldwide.
Start with the WIPO Guide to using patent information if it's your first time searching for patents. The library also has a physical copy of this resource shelved at classmark DA 124.
In addition to its substantial physical collections, the University subscribes to a large quantity of electronic books. These will come up in a normal search on iDiscover. If you would like to request an e-book, please fill in the recommendation form.

Sometimes an e-book will show up on iDiscover with the phrase "Only available on designated PCs in the University Library and Affiliated Libraries". This means you will need to go to one of the libraries that offer this service to view the e-book on a specific PC. The Engineering Library has a designated PC in the Collaborative Space you can use. Other libraries with designated PCs include the University Library and the Betty and Gordon Moore Library. For more information please see the Electronic Legal Deposit LibGuide.

We also have access to other useful web-based resources listed below:

Loading ...