LibGuides: Clinical Medicine: Home

Subject specialist

Email Me

Contact:

University of Cambridge Medical Library
Box 111
School of Clinical Medicine
Cambridge Biomedical Campus
Cambridge
CB2 0SP

Subjects: Clinical Medicine

Online resources

Here are some starting points for searching for the books, journal articles, and other resources you need.

To access databases via Raven use the A-Z databases LibGuide.
There are Medical Library training sessions if you need them.
Contact the Medical Library to discuss how we can help with your particular question.
NHS Knowledge and Library Hub to access NHS resources including ejournals and databases.

Pubmed with Cambridge full text Pubmed as you know it, but with additional links through to Cambridge full text.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups

To access databases via Raven use the A-Z databases LibGuide.

Register for NHS ATHENS
NHS Databases
You'll need an NHS ATHENS login to access these ejournals and databases
BNF
BMJ Best Practice

NHS Knowledge and Library Hub to access electronic resources such as ejournals and databases.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science (citation indexes), published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
EMBASE is a biomedical and pharmacological resource that gives you access to the most up-to-date information about medical and drug-related subjects. It features Advanced Ovid Mapping, which analyzes users' natural language queries and suggests appropriate terms for searching, as well as a variety of extensive vocabulary features.
PsycINFO (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.

iDiscover

Opening Hours

May Bank Holiday opening

The Medical Library will be open 09.00 - 16.45 on Monday 6th May and Monday 27th May

The Medical Library is open:

08:00 - 19.45 Monday - Friday

09:00 - 16.45 Saturday

Staff at the enquiry desk:

10:00 - 16:00 Monday and Friday

10:00 - 19:00 Tuesday - Thursday

13:00 - 16:00 Saturday

Membership

University of Cambridge staff and students can borrow books from the library with their blue cards. NHS staff based in the East of England can register using the registration form. Once the form has been completed please email us from your NHS email account including your current role and contract end date. If you have previously been a member of the Medical Library please contact us and we can re-activate your library account.

Locating and using print collections

To find textbooks and other printed books in the Medical Library use iDiscover, (link opens in new tab).

To find Clinical Students' reading lists use Leganto. (link opens in new tab)

If you need the full text of an article please email us at library@medschl.cam.ac.uk

There are many other libraries in Cambridge which may also hold useful collections for your subject.

We recommend:

Your college library (link opens in new tab).

Resources for My Subject

Clinical Medicine: Home

Clinical Medicine Collections in Cambridge