Skip to main content

Subject Guides

Biology: Home

What on this guide?

On this guide, you'll find:

  • Information about brilliant resources, both print and online, that you have access to in Cambridge
  • Recommended resources, with tips on accessing and using them (coming soon...)
  • Details of other libraries of  and other institutions that might be relevant to your study or research
  • How to recommend books and other resources that you think will be useful
  • Information on referencing, getting started with research, and all the support available to you here in Cambridge

Biology collections in Cambridge

There are many specialist print and online resources for biology in Cambridge. These pages give you an overview of the resources and research support that libraries can offer.

Biology courses in Cambridge are run by a number of departments including Biochemistry, Genetics, Plant Sciences and Zoology, each of which is responsible for an allocation of the lectures, practicals and library provision.

Locating print collections

Specialist print resources and library help is available via the Betty and Gordon Moore Library and your subject's Faculty or Departmental Library.

Related Guides

Primary online resources

Web of Science

Web of Science is an online subscription-based scientific citation indexing service maintained by Thomson Reuters that provides a comprehensive citation search. It gives access to multiple databases that reference cross-disciplinary research, which allows for in-depth exploration of specialised sub-fields within an academic or scientific discipline. 

Biology is mainly dealt with by the Science Citation Index which covers more than 8,500 notable journals encompassing 150 disciplines. Coverage is from the year 1900 to the present day.

WoS allows readers to analyse where articles have been cited and form a view of how significant an article may be based on its Impact Factor.

Scopus

​Similar in content to Web of Science. Scopus claims to be the largest database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Similarly, Scopus provides tools to track, analyse and visualise research. Lots of coverage of Biology

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides an accessible way to search broadly for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Google Scholar isn't a database as such so subject specific searching can be a challenge. However it's an essential tool and can give you a good overview especially where research is published outside the traditional subscription journal channels.

PubMed

PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

PubMed is likely to be primarily of interest to those researching the fields of health and biomedicine. While search results mostly comprise citations rather than full text, researchers and students with University of Cambridge credentials will find direct links to full text articles where access to those articles are provided by the University.

Full text

Where direct full-text access is not provided through the above tools researchers should consult the iDiscover service to find hardcopy articles in the University of Cambridge network. Where an article is not available from within Cambridge researchers can apply for an inter-library loan from any of their College, departmental or UL & affiliate libraries.

Reference requests

Peter Sutton-Long's picture
Peter Sutton-Long
Contact:
Betty and Gordon Moore Library,
Wilberforce Road,
Cambridge.
CB3 0WD
01223 764185
Website / Blog Page
Subjects:Biology