Skip to main content

Audio-visual resources: Home

Welcome

Moving image

The BBC Genome Project (BBC broadcasting archive) based on scans of Radio Times magazine listings published between 1923 and 2009. Includes synopses and cast lists.

British Film Institute InView  includes over 2,000 non-fiction film and television titles from the 20th and early 21st centuries. The items are drawn from the BFI National Archive and came originally from the project partners: the BBC, Fremantle Media, Open Media, the National Archives, and the UK Parliament.

British Council Film collection digitised and downloadable collection of short documentary films made by the British Council during the 1940s designed to show the world how Britain lived, worked and played.

British Films Directory British Council directory of c.7,000 films.

British Pathé Established in London in 1902, by the time the company finally stopped producing cinema newsreels in 1970 they had accumulated 3,500 hours of filmed 'history', amounting to over 90,000 individual items.

BUFVC: British Universities Film & Video Council a representative body which promotes the production, study and use of film and related media in higher education and research.

 
Digital Theatre Plus   "We painstakingly craft our productions, interviews, documentaries and written learning resources to provide access to an art form that can often feel inaccessible. We want to break down cultural, financial and physical barriers so that students everywhere can experience the power and beauty of theatre."
 
Drama Online  offers expert guidance in the form of scholarly notes, annotated texts, critical analysis and contextual information making this an essential study tool that meets the full range of drama teaching needs. Critical interpretations, theatre history surveys and major reference works on authors, movements, practitioners, periods and genres are included alongside performance and practitioner texts, acting and backstage guides. 
 

ECLAP E-Libray for Performing Arts A European project and Best Practice Network which brings together the most relevant performing arts content (videos, photographs, texts, essays, etc.) from cultural institutions across Europe.

EdMediaShare Hosted by JISC Digital Media, allows users to share videos they use to support teaching, learning and research. Sharing requires individual registration on the site.

EUscreen offers thousands of film and television clips, photos, audio recordings and documents from audiovisual archives all over Europe. It creates access to the most significant European events in the 20th and 21st century.

Internet Archive - Movie Archive mainly American content, the library hosts thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users ranging from classic films and cartoons to instructional films and newsreels.

JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments, the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. Established in 2006, JoVE is devoted to publishing scientific research in a visual format to help researchers overcome two of the biggest challenges facing the scientific research community today; poor reproducibility and the time and labor intensive nature of learning new experimental techniques. Cambridge has access to the following 4 titles:

JoVE Basic Protocols

JoVE Biology

JoVE Immunology & Infection

JoVE Neuroscience

 

Screenonline the definitive guide to Britain's film & TV history

Teachers TV: Education in Video

TED-Ed

TRILT an online service delivering extensive information on UK television and radio programmes, specifically enhanced for Higher and Further Education. It is fully searchable. It is particularly useful for finding out about past television listings.

Vimeo

Voices of science, video clips from the British Library exploring life stories in environmental science, British technology and engineering from 1940 to the present
 

Sound

British Library Sounds presents 50,000 recordings and their associated documentation from the British Library’s extensive collections of sound recordings  from around world and covers a wide range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds. Many recordings can be listened to by the general public, but staff and students at licensed UK higher and further education institutions can listen to all recordings online and download the majority of them for academic use.

After an initial search, use the red 'Academic institution log in' box to enable access to further material and download. Users can also register individually on the site if they wish to make notes, add tags and personally manage items using favourites and playlists.

Cambridge Centre for South Asian Studies oral history archive

East London Theatre Archive Putting the spotlight on East End music hall heritage

Independent Radio News audio archive From Callaghan to Thatcher, a contemporary audio archive from the only UK radio news archive outside the BBC

Musicians of Britain and Ireland, 1900-1950 Showcase British and Irish performers recorded between 1900 and 1950, especially artists neglected by the newly-formed EMI after the merger of the Gramophone Co and Columbia in 1931

National Sound Archive

In the University Library Anderson Room, on South Front 1 can be found a computer terminal dedicated to accessing the Naxos classical library, and other music sound resources.

Oral history collections from the British Library Selection of oral history recordings on various themes from the British Library sound archive.

Still image

ARTstor, more than 1.9 millian high-quality images for education and research from contributors world-wide, with a range of tools to support sharing and collaboration and construction of presentations

Bildindex der Kunst und Architektur (Bildarchiv Foto Marburg), 1.4 million digital reproductions of microfiche photographs and other images of artworks in Armenia, the Benelux countries , France, Greece , Italy, Austria , Portugal , Spain and Switzerland

Britain from above Launched in June 2012 by Britain's heritage agencies, this site features aerial photographs from the Aerofilms collection. There are 95,000 images taken between 1919 and 1953 on the site.

British Cartoon Archive Browse the largest online archive of cartoons in the UK

Cambridge Digital Library

CAMIO: Catalog of art museum images online

CHARTER: Creating Heritage Artefacts for Research and Teaching in an E-Repository The selection theme of the 4000 images will be popular culture in the long-nineteenth-century, 1800-1914, drawn from across the University of Exeter’s special collections (Bill Douglas Centre, plus Archives & Rare Books).

Creative Commons aims to locate material that can be shared, used and re-purposed, by looking for resources with a Creative Commons licence. Currently the options include Europeana and Wikimedia Commons, in addition to 'standard' sources like Flickr and Google.

DIAMM (Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music) an archive of high-quality digital images constituting a leading resource for the study of medieval manuscripts. Free but registration required.

Digimap - link to guidance on the map resources from Edina here

Earth Science World image bank

Europeana is Europe’s online multilingual digital library, museum and archive.

First World War Poetry Archive preserving and sharing memories of the Great War through the words of its poets

Freeze Frame: Historic Polar Images 1845-1982, from the Scott Polar Research Institute

Fürer-Haimendorf collection (tribal cultures in South Asia and the Himalayas) SOAS archive of Professor Christoph von Fürer-Haimendorf (1909-1995) includes photographs, cine film and written materials, widely recognised as the world's most comprehensive study of tribal cultures in South Asia and the Himalayas.

Getty Search Gateway allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids.

Global plants (JSTOR Plant Science), the world's largest database of digitized plant specimens

Heritage Explorer brings together content from a variety of sources operating under the English Heritage umbrella

Index of Christian Art records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1550

JISC Digital Media provide a wealth of advice on finding and using digital resources. Particularly useful are their guides to searching the internet for audio, video and images.

John Johnson Collection : an archive of printed ephemera

Medieval Stained Glass in Great Britain (Corpus Vitrearum Medii Aevi), the international research project dedicated to recording medieval stained glass

National Geographic Education (outline maps)

Parker on the Web, an interactive, web-based workspace designed to support use and study of the manuscripts in the historic Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge.

Pre-Raphaelite Online Resource, provides full record information and allows users to examine images in great detail

RIBApix, covers world architecture of all periods together with related subjects such as interior design, landscape, topography, planning, construction and the decorative arts. Many of the images are also of social documentary importance.

Royal Commonwealth Society archives and photographs

The Serving Soldier, online access to unique original documents and photographs held by the Liddell Hart Centre for Military Archives at King's College London

VADS (Visual Arts Data Service) provides access to a wide range of visual art collections, with over 100,000 images freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK.

The Virtual Manuscript Room (University of Birmingham) brings together digital resources related to manuscript materials

A Vision of Britain between 1801 and 2001, Including maps, statistical trends and historical descriptions

Cambridge Digital Library

ARTstor

ARTstor

To take advantage of the full range of features available from ARTstor be sure to log in (top right "Welcome to ARTSTOR") or create an account with the Register link.

ARTstor YouTube channel