LibGuides: Anthropology and Archaeology: Home

Haddon Library

George Cronin

they/them

Email Me

Contact:

Haddon Library,
Downing Site,
University of Cambridge

Finding Ethnographic Film and Music

Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window
A film archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online This link opens in a new window Ethnographic Sound Archives Online brings together previously unpublished historic audio recordings and their supporting field materials, opening new paths for the study of music in its cultural context. The collection brings together 2,000 hours of audio recordings from field expeditions around the world, particularly from the 1960s through the 1980s—the dawn of ethnomusicology as a codified discipline
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street is the most comprehensive resource for visual anthropology in the world, providing access to over 2,000 hours of film and always growing, from raw field footage to crafted ethnographies and documentaries.
Global Jukebox This link opens in a new window
An archive of field recordings of music from around the globe. The archive currently holds more than 6000 songs from approx. 1000 cultures.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window

Finding books and journals

Use the library catalogue, iDiscover, to search for books, journals and articles. If you only want to check what is available in one library then use the location filter.

Finding Journal Articles

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers
Anthropological Fieldwork Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street has partnered with archives and holding institutions around the world to bring the fieldwork underpinning the great ethnographies of the early 20th century into the digital world, available in the cross-searchable collection Anthropological Fieldwork Online.
Anthropological Index Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index published by the Royal Anthropological Institute
Anthropology Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Anthropology Online brings together a wide range of written ethnographies, seminal texts and contemporary studies, many of which are the final published works resulting from the research digitized in Anthropological Fieldwork Online
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Worldwide index of anthropological material in journals from the early 19th century to today.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Please note we have full-text access to only some of the journals listed on this platform.
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Anthropology (CEA) This link opens in a new window
Continuously growing teaching and learning resource, hosted at the University of Cambridge. Steered by Cambridge's Department of Social Anthropology; many of its entries are written by anthropologists within the Department. Open access.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online brings together previously unpublished historic audio recordings and their supporting field materials, opening new paths for the study of music in its cultural context. The collection brings together 2,000 hours of audio recordings from field expeditions around the world, particularly from the 1960s through the 1980s—the dawn of ethnomusicology as a codified discipline
Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street is the most comprehensive resource for visual anthropology in the world, providing access to over 2,000 hours of film and always growing, from raw field footage to crafted ethnographies and documentaries.
Ethnographic Video Online: Teaching Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A curriculum-aligned collection of videos and segments curated to support the teaching of introductory anthropology courses. Each video and segment within this collection are accompanied by a teaching guide providing background information, lesson plans, and classroom exercises and activities. There are a variety of themes that are discussed including family and kinship, gender roles, cultural identity, belief systems and other topics centered around diversity, change, and culture. All teaching materials within this collection are created by the Education Committee of the Royal Anthropological Institute
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters from 1951 to date
International Encyclopedia of Anthropology This link opens in a new window
Reference resource for the field of anthropology and interrelated areas
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new window
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
Oxford Bibliographies: Anthropology This link opens in a new window
An evaluative guide to books, journal articles and other types of publication in anthropology
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals in social sciences and humanities for Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Index of journal articles. Includes _Social sciences citation index_ and _Arts and humanities citation index_ -- useful for tracking the impact of articles

British Archaeological Reports This link opens in a new window
Archive available up to 2022.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science (citation indexes), published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Archaeology Data Service This link opens in a new window
Supports research, learning and teaching with freely available, high quality and dependable digital resources by preserving digital data in the long term, and by promoting and disseminating a broad range of data in archaeology.
British and Irish Archaeological Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic references - many with abstracts - covering all aspects of archaeology and the historic environment, and every chronological period, with a geographical focus on Britain and Ireland.
eHRAF Archaeology This link opens in a new window
eHRAF Archaeology's comparative collection contains in-depth descriptive information about prehistoric cultural and social life written by archaeologists.

FULL list of all A-Z online resources in Cambridge
A/Z ejournals
Tailored display version of iDiscover with a search box and an A-Z menu option.

e-resources blog
ejournals & eresources : news, advice and updates on new content from the ejournals@cambridge team for the University of Cambridge

For questions about e-resources, (journals, ebooks, databases) see these Frequently Asked Questions. Please also feel free to get in touch with the Haddon Library team haddon@lib.cam.ac.uk

Finding Global Research

Africa Portal
Africabib
African Digital Research Repositories
AfricArXiv
Bangladesh Journals Online
Central American Journals Online
Core: Global open access research
DOAJ: Find OA journals and papers
Eldis: Global development research
Garuda : garba rujukan digital (Indonesia)
Global Electronic Thesis and Dissertation Search
IndiaRxiv (Indian preprints)
Latindex
Mongolia Journals Online
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
OSF Preprints: Global preprints server
Redalyc: Spanish language papers
RINarxiv (Indonesian preprints)
Sabinet African Journals
Sri Lanka Journals Online

Locating Print Collections

You can find specialist print resources and library help via the Haddon Library of Archaeology and Anthropology.

Many other libraries in Cambridge may also hold useful collections for your subject.

We recommend:

Cambridge University Library

Balfour and Newton Libraries
On the New Museums site, across the road from the Haddon, and another place to look for current genetics textbooks
Earth Sciences Library
Next door to the Haddon physically, and much used by archaeologists
Marshall Library of Economics
Serves the Faculty of Economics and the Centre of Development Studies, and is useful for Archaeology and Anthropology. Sidgwick Site
Seeley History Library
One of the largest libraries in Cambridge, housing the Sociology and History collections.

Resources for My Subject

Anthropology and Archaeology: Home

Welcome