The Cambridge eresources team has compiled a comprehensive LibGuide for eresources & ejournals which offers advice on:
As an example: using the keyword "Africa" as a search term in the A-Z list of ejournals produces 275+ titles:
Once you have found the title that you are looking for you can click directly through to the full text that is available to you as a University member (Raven login may be required)
Wikipedia also has a list of international academic journals for you to peruse: List of African studies journals
You can check access using the ejournals & eresources LibGuide
Below is a selection of useful electronic databases for African Studies. Some may require your Raven login, especially if you are not on campus. For a comprehensive list of online resources available to you searchable by subject and keyword, please see the eresources & ejournals LibGuide.
FOCUS: Sub-Saharan Africa (open access) : The Open Knowledge Repository contains the World Bank’s premium research dealing with key aspects of development in Sub-Saharan Africa. This site contains thousands of published books, journal articles, economic and sector studies, working papers, and knowledge briefs.
Any newspapers that the University holds in print or as an online resource will appear when using the iDiscover catalogue. Many print runs will most likely be held at the main University Library. The African Studies Library does not have any current subscriptions to newspapers, however we do hold short runs of the following in print:
Please ask us at the issue desk for further help with our newspaper collection, or fill in an online fetching form for any of the issues listed above.
The Library also has subscription access to CAMP. CAMP acquires and preserves materials in microform and digital formats including newspapers, with its focus on Sub-Saharan Africa. Through (CAMP) we can order newspapers on microfilm and some digital content. Search the CAMP catalogue here.
The British Library holds an impressive collection of African newspapers, with the earliest dating back to the mid 19th century.
The Cambridge eresources team has compiled a comprehensive LibGuide for international Newspapers which offers a list of online:
The Library's holdings of audio and visual material can be found using the iDiscover catalogue, or by browsing the cases that are on display by the issue desk, or on the shelves:
The University is a member of the British Universities Film and Video Council (BUFVC). Our membership provides Raven password access to the Television and Radio Index for Learning and Teaching (TRILT) which has listings of more than 300 TV and radio channels (1995 onwards). You are able to set up auto-alert emails for forthcoming programmes relevant to your research interests.
If you notice a programme that you think would be useful for the Library, please don't hesitate to let us know and we can order the title.
Kanopy provides access to one of the most unique collections of films in the world – including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases – on every topic imaginable (& in nearly every language).
Africa Through A Lens (National Archives UK) - "Explore incredible photographs spanning over 100 years of African history, from the 1860s onwards, taken from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office photographic collection (CO 1069)"
African Writers' Club (Raven login) - "The African Writers Club collection comprises over 250 hours of radio programmes recorded in the 1960s at the Transcription Centre, London, under its Director Dennis Duerden. The tapes were distributed for broadcast by radio stations in Africa and elsewhere... This material should prove invaluable to students of African Studies, and in particular to students of the rich vein of creative writing in Africa in the middle of the 20th century." Interviews include : Chinua Achebe, Wole Soyinka, Ama Ata Aidoo & many more.
Archive of Malian Photography - Circa 100,000 photographic negatives from the archives of Mamadou Cissé, Adama Kouyaté, Abdourahmane Sakaly, Malick Sidibé, and Tijani Sitou for long-term preservation and access. Spanning the 1940s-90s, this collection reveals changes and continuities in political and cultural practices, social trends, and photographic production in Mali during the twentieth century.
Filmed Interviews with Leading Thinkers - compiled by Alan Macfarlane, Department of Social Anthropology (Cambridge) - this archive includes interviews with researchers such as: Ray Abrahams; Jean & John Comaroff; Meyer Fortes; Clifford Geertz; Jack Goody; and the founder of African Studies at Cambridge, Audrey Richards. Originally focusing on Social Anthropologists, the collection now houses over 240 interviews with leading thinkers across the disciplines.
ICRC Audiovisual Archives - "The ICRC’s collections of sound recordings, film footage, videos and photos illustrate and document the activities of the ICRC and of the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement as a whole from the end of the 19th century up to the present day, in all operational contexts." Coverage includes response to: the Ebola crisis; decolonization wars; and current situations in Mozambique, South Sudan, and DRC.
G I Jones Photographic Archive Southeastern Nigerian Art & Culture - The photographs in this archive were taken in the 1930s by the late G. I. Jones.
Northcote Thomas Website project - "On this site you will be able to explore part of the extraordinary collection of Northcote Whitridge Thomas (1868-1936) held at the Museum for Archaeology and Anthropology in Cambridge."
Old and New in Shona Religion - "This multimedia website showcases the photography and work of Dr. M.L. Daneel, including his research among the Shona people of Southern Africa in the 1960s through the 1990s in Zimbabwe from the mid to late 20th century"
Royal Commonwealth Society (part of the main University Library) - "a treasure-trove of information, pictorial and written, print and manuscript, on the Commonwealth and Britain's former colonial territories, comprising over 300,000 printed items, about 800 archival collections (including manuscript diaries, correspondence, pictures, cine films, scrapbooks and newspaper cuttings) and over 120,000 photographs."
Royal Commonwealth Society digitised collections (hosted by Cambridge Digital Library)
The Cambridge eresources team has compiled a comprehensive LibGuide for Audio-visual resources available to members of the University including:
There are many sources of news, research, and analysis on Africa available online via: portals, collaborative research programmes, libraries, societies, and other educational institutions.
You are able to view theses from across the world online. Try some of the following routes:
Networked Digital Library of Theses & Dissertations: International freely available theses and dissertations
For more in-depth information regarding these online services (including charges where applicable) please see the: