Skip to main content

Resources for My Subject

African Studies Library: Newspapers

Newspapers

Newspaper bundle
Newspaper room
Newspapers

Newspapers in Cambridge

Any newspapers that the University holds in print or as an online resource will appear when using the iDiscover catalogue. Many print runs will most likely be held at the main University Library.

The Cambridge eresources team has compiled a comprehensive LibGuide for international Newspapers which offers a list of online:

  • Newspaper archives

  • Current newspapers

  • News sites

Quick View of Online News Sources

African Studies Library News Sources

The African Studies Library holds short runs of the following in print:

  • Central African Mail (Lusaka) 1962-1965
  • Daily Times (Nairobi) 1992-1993
  • Daily Times (Nigeria) 1992-1993
  • East African 1997-2000
  • Imbila Kasoma (Zambia) 1966-1971
  • Lyashi (Zambia) 1960-1965
  • Mail & Guardian (SA) 1996-2009
  • The Daily Nation (Kenya) 1990-1991
  • The Standard (Kenya) 1987-1990
  • Voice of the Arab World 1975-1981

We also hold current print subscriptions to the following news magazines:

  • Africa Confidential
  • Africa Report
  • African Banker
  • African Business
  • Jeune Afrique

Please ask us at the issue desk for further help with our newspaper collection, or fill in an online fetching form for any of the titles listed above.

Order newspapers via CAMP/CRL service

The African Studies Library pays for subscription access to the Cooperative Africana Materials Project (CAMP) 

CAMP acquires and preserves materials in microform and digital formats. 

CAMP collects:

  • newspapers
  • journals
  • government publications
  • personal and corporate archives
  • personal papers of scholars and government leaders  

CAMP's materials are in many African and European languages, including Swahili, Portuguese, French, Zulu, Xhosa, English, and German.

Search the CAMP catalogue here.

Please email us if you would like to order any materials from CAMP.  Please bear in mind, items are generally loaned from the USA in microfilm format, however some material may be available digitally whilst on-campus.  Please ask us for further details.

British Library

The British Library holds an impressive collection and archive of African newspapers, as well as British newspapers with coverage of Africa.

We recommend purchasing a British Library Reader Pass to enable access to their extensive newspaper collection, and online newspaper archives.

Visit the British Library's information pages on newspapers

Get a British Library Reader Pass