Skip to main content

Subject Guides

Modern & Medieval Languages (MML): Germanic Languages

Recommended reserouces in German

This is a selection of avaible electronic resources in German. For a complete list, please visit ...

Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach-und Literaturwissenschaft (BDSL)

Online version of the bibliography with the same name. Also known as "Eppelsheimer-Kottelwelsch", it is considered the most important bibliographical resource for German language and literary studies. The scope of the database goes back retrospectively to 1985 (the bibliography began in 1945), and it broadly indexes both monographic and serial literature in the field. Published by Klostermann Verlag, it is maintained by the Stadt- und Universitätsbibliothek Frankfurt am Main and is updated quarterly. It covers scholarly publishing on an international scale in several languages.

Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek

The DDB is Germany’s central, national portal for culture and science. The portal, wholly organized and funded by the public sector, has the ongoing aim of linking up the digitised inventories of Germany’s cultural and scientific institutions and making them available to the public.

Deutsche Literatur des 18. Jahrhunderts Online

First Editions and Complete Editions from Early to Late Enlightenment. Through 18th Century German Literature Online, first editions and first published complete editions by more than 600 German-speaking authors of the 18th century are now available online. The approximately 2,700 works wih almost 4,500 volumes reflect the broad spectrum of German literature from the early stages of the age of Enlightenment to the later part of the period.

DNB, Katalog der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek

The German National Library is entrusted with the task of collecting, permanently archiving, bibliographically classifying and making available to the general public all German and German-language publications from 1913, foreign publications about Germany, translations of German works, and the works of German-speaking emigrants published abroad between 1933 and 1945.

The DigiZeitschriften
Created by the “Verein zur Digitalisierung von wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften” at the University Library of Göttingen and funded by the German Research Foundation, DigiZeitschriften provides page images and increasing full text of periodicals in Economics, English Languages, Geology, History, Law, Librarianship, Literature, Philology, the Sciences, and Sociology. Providing access to the back issues of German titles, DigiZeitschriften complements JSTOR. Dates of coverage vary by title.

Goethe Werke

Goethes Werke contains the complete text of the 143 volumes of the definitive Weimar Edition. Every word of Goethe's literary and scientific works, his diaries and his letters from the Weimar Edition is included, as are all illustrations, notes, variants and indexes from the published volumes. Also included are Goethes Gespräche, edited by Woldemar Freiherr von Biedermann, Leipzig, 1889-96, and Goethes Werke, Nachträge zur Weimarer Ausgabe, edited by Paul Raabe, Munich, 1990. The Nachträge include all Goethe's letters discovered since the Weimar Edition was finished and makes this the most complete collection of Goethe's letters in existence.

The complete set of Marx-Engels Werke

Access to all of Marx-Engels Werke in PDF form.

Der Spiegel

Access to all issues of Der Spiegel apart from the last twelve months. All issues not yet available online are kept in the MML Library where they can be consulted.
Matthias Ammon's picture
Matthias Ammon
Contact:
01223 (7)62896